Every year, Primo Italiano Lodge #2800 awards a $2500 scholarship to a high school senior of Italian descent. 

Past Recipients

2019    Makenzie Marino, Trinity High School

Makenzie MarinoOur 2019 scholarship winner is the daughter of Angelo and Susan Marino of Washington. She will be attending Penn State University for a degree in Finance upon graduation from Trinity High School.  She served as a class representative for four years, a member of the National Honor Society, a Varsity Tennis player, was part of Prom Committee and is an Opinion Editor/Co-Editor-in-Chief of the School Newspaper. 

2018    Matthew Marasco, Washington High School

Our 2018 scholarship winner is a member of the National Honor Society, served as student representative to the Washington School District School Board, and was Salutatorian of his graduating class. 

2017    Teague Nicolella, McGuffey High School

2016    Nicholas Aprea, Linsly School

2015    Matthew Raneri, Trinity High School

2014    Alexa Kostyak, Trinity High School

2013    Cassidy Graham, Trinity High School

2012    Brian D’Orazio

2011    Spencer Secreti and Myresa P. Troiano, Trinity High School

2010    Victoria C. Perri, Trinity High School 


High School Seniors:  Would you like to participate in our scholarship award?

Requirements for $2,500 Scholarship:

  1. Must be of at least twenty-five (25%) Italian-American descent, one parent at least ½ Italian.
  2. Must be going to a post-secondary school and must be a senior at Faith Christian School, McGuffey, Trinity or Washington High School, or the child of an active member Primo Italiano Lodge 2800, regardless of the school district.
  3. Essay should be a minimum of 300 words.

 Please submit a personal essay:  “describe how you and your family celebrate, honor or incorporate into your daily lives your Italian-American heritage, customs and traditions”. Please exclude any family names in your essay.

2022 entry opening to be announced.

Recipient, along with his/her parents, will be guests at a 2022 dinner meeting to read their winning essay and receive the $2,500 scholarship award. Thank you… “buona fortuna”!